Birr & District Motor Club

Archive 2014

Endurance Trial: Takes place on Saturday 11th October starting from Garahy's Garage, Fortal, Birr. Entries are now open.
H.Q again will be Garahy's Garage, Fortal, Birr which has plenty of safe secure parking for Vans, Cars & Trailers.  Scrutiny is 9.30am to 11.00am.
20 Selectives are planned and all Selectives are straight forward and smooth.  Road distances between selectives are short and the Tea Break will be held in Cloughjordan where David Percy will have his garage open to accomodate any crew looking for running repairs along with our mobile mechanic Niall Driver.
The last 6 Tests will be run in Darkness. Finish time will be 20.45 approx.
Marshalls are needed and anybody that can assist are asked to contact Mick Boland(087) 2688054.
Further info from Clerk of the Course Eoin Longworth 086 8179297.
Regulations & Entry Form
2014 Club Championship Points updated 23/09/14 attached
Key to Points Structure:
10 Points for Marshaling.
15 Points for COC/Deputy COC.
20 Points for 1st Club Member in the Overall Results.
5 Points for a Non Finish.
All Members are asked to check points particularly those who have marshaled to ensure points are allocated correctly.
All NON Club Events in the Championship are events that the Club Assist with.
Queries to Registrar Eoin Longworth
086 8179297.
Birr & District Motor Club's 46th Annual Tom O'Reilly Memorial Car Treasure Hunt was an outstanding success with 69 Crews taking part.  The Car Treasure Hunt is part of the Annual Birr Vintage Week Festival.
This years route started in Dooly's Hotel Birr and moved on through The Miletree, Dromoyle, Ballygaddy, Aghancon, Clareen and finished near Fortal.  Clues were varied and some were demanding and hard to find.
The Overall Winner was Ruth Haslam from Birr on 770 Marks with runner up Sarah King on 735 Marks with Michael Loughnane from Birr finishing in 3rd spot on 730 Marks.
The Birr & District Motor Club would like to thank all those who participated, The Residents along the route for there patience & understanding, Dooly's Hotel Birr for there excellent hospitality, Birr Vintage Week Committee along with the organisers Eoin Longworth, Ger Brophy, Pat Corcoran & Mick Boland who laid on a very enjoyable evenings fun.
Treasure Hunt Results

Birr & District MC MVAT
was ran 27th July 2014 from the Creggan Court Hotel, Athlone.
The event was 20 test locations, 10 before lunch in Athlone. After lunch was in the Ballycumber / Doon area south of the town
Multi Venue Test Trial July 2014 Results

Birr Autotest 17/18 May 2014
Thanks to all who took part and also thanks to everyone who helped in any way.
Test Trial Results Saturday
Test Trial Results Sunday
Birr April 2014 GS Autocross Results
Birr Motor Club News Update 07/02/2014
Link to Event Report
Thanks to all our sponsors and those who took part and all who helped in any way to to make this another suucessfull rally. The Welsh crew below of Hugh Hunter and Andy Marchbank in a Subaru Imprezza  were the overall winners


Provisional 5 Star Catering National Loose Surface Autocross Championship Results

Club Championship Award Winners

2014 Club Events

Abbeyleix Tarmac Stages Rally  23rd February
Grass Autocross  6th April
Autotest 17th + 18th May
Multi Venue Autotest  27th July
Tom O'Reilly Memorial Car Treasure Hunt  5th August
Endurance Trial 11th October
Loose Surface Autocross 7th December

Final Club Championship Points 2013 (updated 04/12/13)
Prizegiving for the Club Championship will take place at the AGM

Note to all Competition Licence Holders.
2014 Licence Renewal Forms WILL NOT be posted out this year by Motorsport Ireland but are now available on the Motorsport Ireland Website.
Link to Licence forms (First Time & Renewal) and Irds Applications.

Midlands East Rally Championship Points 16/10/2013

Endurance Trial Photo's

More Photo's @

Birr & District Motor Club held a fundraiser for the North Tipperary, Offaly & Laois Alzheimer Societys along with Barrettstown Castle Kildare and St Fintans Hospital Portlaoise.
Fund Raising Draw Winners
1.  Mary Heffernan, Tullamore, Co. Offaly             - €1000 holiday
2.  Kelly O'Brien, Gortnahoe, Co. Tipperary          - Trip to Germany
3. Tomas Murphy, Durrow, Co. Laois                   - Drive with Craig Breen
4.  Willam Cooke, Adare, Co. Limerick                - Premier league game trip
5.  Ger Nevin, Ferbane, Co. Offaly                       - 2 day trip on the Shannon
6.  Michael Woulfe, Vicarstown, Co. Laois           - Weekend break for 2
7.  Mick Nevin, Tullamore, Co. Offaly                   - Weekend break for 2
8.  Cyril Maguire, Ballinakill, Co. Laois                - Weekend break for 2
9   Shane Moore, Camorss, Co. Laois                 - €250 Dunnes Stores Voucher
10. Fajimiyo Dmosola, Portlaoise, Co. Laois        - €100 One For All Voucher
11. Liam Walsh, Threecastles, Co. Kilkenny        - €100 Tesco Voucher
12. Luke Ryan, Graiguenamanagh, Co. Kilkenny  - €100 Tesco Voucher
13. Aine Fennelley, Co. Laois                             - Trip to Guinness Brewery
14. Sheila Bergin, Roscrea, Co. Tipperary            - 2 Football All Ireland Tickets
15. Alan Miles, Ballinagore, Co. Westmeath        -  €100 Homebase Voucher
16. Jim Finlay, Borris in Ossory, Co. Laois          -  Ashbrook Arms Durrow, Sunday lunch for 2
17. Sharon Kennedy, Nenagh, Co. Tipperary        -  €400 Cash

Birr & District Motor Club Raise €46,000 for Laois Alzheimer’s Society